Pursuit of Excellence Award: Recognizing Special Achievement

Pursuit of Excellence Award: Recognizing Special Achievement

This annual award is presented in recognition of excellence in business performance and the setting of high standards as an example for others to follow. Such performance may be related to innovative and successful methods of management, marketing, manufacturing or service. In addition, this award may be presented for exemplary volunteer or advocacy efforts made on behalf of the winner's company and/or industry. Award winners must be an AWDA member or employed by an AWDA member company.


Mauro Cifelli
Mauro Cifelli, president and CEO, Groupe Del Vasto

The Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association (AWDA), a community of the Auto Care Association, presented its 2021 Pursuit of Excellence Award to Mauro Cifelli, president and CEO, Groupe Del Vasto.

Cifelli joined the Del Vasto organization in 1994 and has held a variety of positions in the areas of Information Technology, Marketing, Sales and Customer Service. In 2018 he was named president and CEO. Over the past 27 years, he has played a pivotal role within the organization. His inspiring leadership, obvious management skills and extensive knowledge of the industry have served him well in driving the advancement of the organization’s vision and mission.

Cifelli’s was chairman of the Automotive Industries Association of Canada at both the provincial and national levels and also serves as director and treasurer of the Aftermarket Auto Parts Alliance Board of Directors. During his recent two-year term as AWDA Chairman, the aftermarket industry was forced to deal with the COVID pandemic and resulting move to all-virtual conferences and board meetings. 

"Like everyone, he faced huge business and personal challenges, but he never let them negatively affect his AWDA chairmanship. Mauro was an absolute rock--the right guy, at the right time," said Larry Northup, executive director, AWDA.


Previous Award Recipients
  • 2021 Mauro Cifelli
  • 2020 The Merrill Company and Arnold Motor Supply
  • 2019 Young Auto Care Networking Group (YANG)
  • 2018 Tom Seboldt
  • 2017 Corey Bartlett
  • 2016 Aftermarket Auto Parts Alliance
  • 2015 Wix Filters
  • 2014 Wilson McMillion
  • 2014 George Segal
  • 2013 John Bartlett, Jr.
  • 2012 Frank Frederick
  • 2011 Richard Beirne, MAAP
  • 2010 David Caracci
  • 2010 Brian Cruickshank, MAAP
  • 2009 Rusty Bishop
  • 2008 Dennis Welvaert
  • 2007 Jay Burkhart
  • 2006 Bill Schlatterer
  • 2005 Jerry McCabe
  • 2004 Rosemary Hall
  • 2003 Barbara Cunningham, Jim Eady
  • 2002 Jon Owens, AAP
  • 2002 Ken Mullen, AAP
  • 2001 Richard H. Morgan, AAP
  • 2000 Bill Dotson, AAP
  • 1999 John M. Riess
  • 1998 Standard Motor Products
  • 1997 Moog Automotive
    Chuck Udell, AAP
  • 1996 Dayco Products Inc.
  • 1995 Robert Egan, AAP
    Jack Creamer, AAP
  • 1994 A.E. Clevite Engine Parts
    The Gates Rubber Company
  • 1993 Triad Systems Corporation
  • 1992 John Castle
    Rosemary Hall
    Charles J. Monahan
  • 1991 Robert Miller
    Stephen C. Horn, AAP
  • 1990 Gus Carlson
    Richard D. Kudner
  • 1989 William Wade, AAP
  • 1988 Jack Heyler, Automotive Service Association
    Tenneco Automotive Wagner Division, Cooper Industries
  • 1987 S.R. "Dick" Downey
    Charles J. Monahan
    Robert H. Raff, MAAP
  • 1986 Jay L. Love
    N. Birnie Pryor
    Kenneth D. Walker, AAP
  • 1984 Worldparts Corporation
    Louis A. Zuanich, AAP
  • 1983 ACDelco, General Motors Corporation
    Federal-Mogul Corporation
  • 1982 Bank of America
    Ford Motor Company