Lifetime Achievement Award in Honor of Martin Fromm

Lifetime Achievement Award in Honor of Martin Fromm

This very selective award recognizes individuals who have, over the course of a career spanning many years, distinguished themselves through their integrity, unselfish commitment to, and high level of performance within the motor vehicle aftermarket industry. Nominees will be considered "backbones" of the industry, individuals who have led great organizations of all sizes and/or industry causes, created jobs and/or opportunities and demonstrated exemplary service to customers, suppliers, peers and the motoring public. Award winners need not be AWDA members.


Richard Beine
Richard Beirne, MAAP, vice president, corporate development, Automotive Parts Headquarters

The Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association (AWDA), a community of the Auto Care Association, presented its 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award to Richard Beirne, MAAP, vice president, corporate development, Automotive Parts Headquarters. 

With more than 50 years of service to the aftermarket, Richard Beirne has been an active and well-respected industry advocate, applying his leadership skills to some of the industry’s most impactful decisions of the 21st century. Beirne started his career in 1968 as a delivery driver for United Auto Supply (UAS). After working in every aspect of the business, he was named president and CEO in 1989. Beirne continued in that role until UAS was acquired by APH in 2015.

Among his many awards, Beirne received the 2004 Art Fisher Memorial Scholarship Award from AWDA for his support of training and education and in 2007, Federated Auto Parts presented him with their Art Fisher Memorial Membership Award. In 2011, Beirne earned AWDA’s Pursuit of Excellence Award. Beirne received his MAAP from the University of the Aftermarket in 2016 and along with his wife, Lisa, became Lifetime Trustees of the University of the Aftermarket Foundation in 2019.

'Throughout all those many years, Dick has remained one of my most valued advisors, an incredibly wise and thoughtful man that everyone should listen to and seek to emulate,' said Larry Northup, executive director, AWDA.


Previous Award Recipients
  • 2021 Richard Beirne
  • 2020 E. Fletcher Lord, Jr., AAP
  • 2019 Rusty Bishop
  • 2018 Greg Henslee
  • 2017 Tom Gallagher
  • 2016 Larry Pavey
  • 2015 Michael Lambert
  • 2014 Dale Larson
  • 2013 Walter Spence
  • 2013 Clay Buzzard
  • 2012 Jack F. Creamer
  • 2011 Lawrence I. Sills
  • 2010 Robert J. Susor
  • 2009 Neal L. Williams, Sr.
  • 2008 Richard H. Morgan
  • 2007 Aaron Berkowitz
  • 2006 Arthur E. Lottes, III
  • 2005 David O’Reilly
  • 2004 Kathleen Schmatz
  • 2003 Mort Schwartz
  • 2002 Al Gaspar, AAP
  • 2001 Robert R. Miller
  • 2000 Larry McCurdy
  • 1999 Tim Lee, AAP
  • 1998 Basil Mezines
  • 1997 Robert Raff, MAAP