world class technician

The Auto Care Association and the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) work together to recognize professional technicians who have tested and obtained ASE certification in 22 specialty areas. 

Fast Facts

  • There are an estimated 879,000 technicians in the U.S.
  • Approximately 250,000 techs are ASE certified
  • Over 2,000 driven techs have earned World Class status
  • The World Class Technician recognition was established more than 30 years ago 

How to qualify

  • ASE Testing is computer based at a prometrics center (available all over the country) 
  • Must attain 22 specific ASE certifications to reach World Class 
    • A1-A8 (automotive), T1-T8 (medium/heavy truck), B2-B5 (collision repair), L1, L2 (advanced)
  • If you have questions about the qualifications, please email:  Julie White 

How long it lasts 

  • Once you're World Class, you're World Class for life! 

What to expect

  • Individuals who have achieved World Class Technician status are announced in early Spring of the ensuing calendar year
  • Recipients receive:
    • A special certificate signed by the presidents of ASE and the Auto Care Association
    • An exclusive embroidered shoulder insignia
    • A personalized plaque and medallion kit
    • Promotion in Auto Care and ASE communications to thousands of industry professionals and media

About ASE

Established in 1972 as a non-profit organization, the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) is a driving force in the transportation industry. As an independent third party, ASE upholds and promotes high standards of service and repair through the assessment, certification and credentialing of current and future industry professionals, and the prestigious ASE Blue Seal logo identifies professionals who possess the essential knowledge and skills to perform with excellence. Today, there are approximately 250,000 ASE Certified professionals at work in dealerships, independent shops, collision repair shops, auto parts stores, fleets, schools and colleges throughout the country. For more information about ASE, visit

+ 2020 World Class Technician Recipients
+ 2019 World Class Technician Recipients
+ 2018 World Class Technician Recipients
+ 2017 World Class Technician Recipients
+ 2016 World Class Technician Recipients
+ 2015 World Class Technician Recipients

  • Share