Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association Announces 2019 Industry Award Winners

November 8, 2019
By Camille Sheehan

LAS VEGAS – November 4, 2019 – The Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association (AWDA), a community of the Auto Care Association, last night announced the winners of its 2019 Industry Awards during the Opening General Session of its 72nd Annual Business and Education Conference held in Las Vegas. AWDA’s annual awards are given to four honorees who have demonstrated excellence in, and made significant contributions to, the automotive aftermarket industry.

The 2019 Outstanding Leadership Award in Honor of Jack Creamer was given John P. Bartlett, Jr., executive chairman, Automotive Parts Headquarters (APH). This award is given to an individual who has contributed in a unique and monumental way while employed in the auto care industry. The award was presented by AWDA’s 2018 Leader of the Year, Larry Pavey, president, Federated Auto Parts Distributors and co-CEO, Automotive Parts Services Group. Also participating in the presentation was John Bartlett’s son, Corey Bartlett, president and CEO, Automotive Parts Headquarters (APH).

The 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award in Honor of Martin Fromm was presented to Rusty Bishop, AAP, chief executive officer, Federated Auto Parts Distributors, Inc. This award is given to individuals who have distinguished themselves through their unselfish commitment to, and high level of performance within, the auto care industry throughout their career. The award was presented by Bishop’s son, JR Bishop, director, marketing events and motorsports, Federated Auto Parts Distributors, Inc.

The 2019 Art Fisher Award for Excellence in Education was presented to The Group Training Academy (The Academy). This award is given to a company or individual in recognition of their leadership and commitment to education and training, either within their own organization or throughout the auto care industry. The award was presented by the 2018 recipient, Eric Sills, president, Standard Motor Products, and was accepted on behalf of The Academy by Robert Roos, National Pronto Association and Phil Moore, Federated Auto Parts Distributors.

The 2019 Pursuit of Excellence Award: Recognizing Special Achievement was presented to the Young Auto Care Network Group (YANG). This award is given exclusively to AWDA member companies, or employees of those member companies, in the auto care industry, in recognition of excellence in business performance and the setting of high standards as an example for others to follow. The award was presented on behalf of AWDA by Ryan Samuels, vice president, Samuels Inc. and Buy Wise Auto Parts. Accepting the award for YANG was its current chairman, Dave Shapiro, SRS Marketing Company, Inc.

For more information about the AWDA industry awards, please visit the AWDA webpage.