Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association (AWDA) Presents Annual Awards Honoring Excellence in the Automotive Aftermarket Industry

October 30, 2017
By Camille Sheehan

BETHESDA, Md. – October 30, 2017 – The Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association (AWDA), a community of the Auto Care Association, last night launched the general session of its 70th Annual Conference by recognizing the winners of its annual awards. The AWDA’s 70th Annual Conference is taking place from Oct. 28 – Oct. 30 at the Venetian Hotel in Las Vegas, coinciding with the annual AAPEX show, also taking place in the city. 

Each year, AWDA presents four awards highlighting the excellence of its recipients in the automotive warehouse distribution industry.

This year, the Jack Creamer Leader of the Year Award, which acknowledges an aftermarket professional who has contributed to the industry in a unique and significant way, was presented to Bill Maggs, president and CEO of the National PRONTO Association, co-CEO of the Automotive Parts Services Group and co-CEO of 1 Parts Global Aftermarket Services.

AWDA Board of Governors member and current executive vice president of global procurement of Genuine Parts Company, Scott LeProhon, presented Thomas C. Gallagher, former president and CEO of Genuine Parts Company, with the Martin Fromm Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of his unselfish commitment to, and high level of performance within, the motor vehicle aftermarket industry.

The Art Fisher Memorial Scholarship Award is given annually in memory of former AWDA Chairman Art Fisher, and grants scholarships in the name of the award winner to two students enrolled in the automotive aftermarket management program at Northwood University. This year, the NAPA/Genuine Parts LEAD Store Manager Training Program received the scholarship award in recognition of its outstanding commitment to education and training.

The Pursuit of Excellence Award was given to Corey Bartlett, president and CEO, Automotive Parts Headquarters, Inc., St. Cloud, Minn., in recognition of his excellence in business performance and the setting of high standards as an example for others to follow.

To learn more about the AWDA annual awards and this year’s winners, click here.