lifetime achievement award

Import Vehicle Community - Small

The Import Vehicle Community presented the 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award to:

Wm. “Mac” McGovern AAM, AAP, director, marketing and training, KYB Americas Corporation, retired

    Today, Mac’s a self-proclaimed automotive geezer: Someone who’s spent a lifetime in our industry discovering new challenges and exploring opportunities that could help improve it. Mac’s career spanned both sides: service and parts. He spent nine years as a dealership technician and then as a Fuel and Electrical Systems Specialist in the U.S. Army. Then like so many techs that needed something more, opened his own automotive repair shop. McGovern says that, “If you haven’t done it yourself, I’ll tell you that a tech-to-small business owner is like throwing a baby in the pool.” The next 30 years of Mac’s career included learning how to stay afloat and in the process, discovering a passion to help other shops.

    He earned his AAM (Accredited Automotive Manager), helped create and became president of a Certified Service Center Council, was an AMI-accredited seminar instructor, became the Service Center Mentor and a National Advisory Board Member for the Aftermarket Auto Parts Alliance, then turned vendor consultant and speaker. He’s earned his AAP from the University of the Aftermarket, served on the AWDA Manufacturers Advisory Council and Auto Care Association’s Education Committees.
Rosemary Perry, segment management specialist, Auto Care Association, retired

    Rosemary Perry has worked many years at the Auto Care Association, Automotive Aftermarket Industry Association (AAIA), and Automotive Parts and Accessories Association (APAA). Rosemary wore many hats during her years at the associations, starting with the reception desk where she gained a wealth of knowledge about the association and the members. She also worked in the accounting department and government affairs for a short time.

    Rosemary found her niche in the membership department, working with many of the segments focusing on Import Vehicle Community and the Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association (AWDA). AAPEX was a large part of her position with both groups. The Import Vehicle Community was a big challenge each year working with the Executive Leadership Committee on producing a product awards/showcase, people awards, sponsorships, luncheon, videos and booth set-up.

Previous award recipients

  • Robin Biggins (1992)
  • Houston “Howdie” Smith (1993)
  • Bill Buckley (1994)
  • Ken Powell (1995)
  • Steve Murphy (1995)
  • Charles Coleman (1996)
  • Albert Cohen (1996)
  • Mike Taksey (1997)
  • Bob Calhoun (1997)
  • Tony Perticari (1998)
  • George Halford (1998)
  • Jim Keith (1999)
  • ** (2000)
  • Bob Tye (2001)
  • Trevor Musso (2001)
  • Christopher Kern (2002)
  • Jerry Brosilow (1926-2003) (2003)
  • Joe Bagwell (2004)
  • James E. Berner (1933-2004) (2005)
  • Gail Volpe (2006)
  • Bill Guinard (2007)
  • Daniel J. Lewis (2008)
  • Hans J. Wulff (2009)
  • Mary Lynn Nyman (2010)
  • Dick Berreman (2011)
  • Chris von Lenski (2011)
  • Janette Ponciroli (2012)
  • Peter Klotz (1954-2012) (2013)
  • Steve Lynch (2014)
  • Grant Kitching (2015)
  • Craig Burns (2016)
  • Stanley Bloomfield


**Award not presented.


  • Share