hall of fame award

Import Vehicle Community - Small

Election to the Hall of Fame represents the highest honor bestowed by the Import Vehicle Community. It is recognition of an exceptional lifetime of achievement and service to the automotive aftermarket and its people.

The Import Vehicle Community presented the 2018 Hall of Fame Award to:

W. Michael “Mike” Brown, president emeritus, Olympus Imported Auto Parts, retired

Mike’s entire career has been in the import aftermarket. Prior to Olympus, Mike worked at Hansa Products as a driver, warehouse and dispatcher. After college, Mike became a counterman for Olympic Imported Parts in 1978. He advanced to store manager and by 1986, had purchased the company, then a single store with 20 employees and five vehicles. His philosophy has been that the aftermarket, not the OE dealers, should set the standard for quality in parts and distribution effectiveness, and Olympus strives daily to fulfill that goal.

The next 30 years was focused on growing Olympus from that single store location with $2 million in revenues, to a regional force as an import warehouse distributor in the Mid-Atlantic region with eight locations, 170 employees and $26 million in revenues.


Irving Beck (1985)


Peter Morris (1985)


George Neuwirth (1985)


Bjarne Qvale (1985)


Earl Nisonger (1986)


Albert Wepper (1986)

William Arnowitz

William Arnowitz (1987)


Harold Schrier (1987)

Stephen Herrick

Stephen Herrick (1988)

Len Meyers

Len Meyers (1988)


William Owen (1988)


Dave Williams (1988)

Chuck Schwartz

Chuck Schwartz (1989)

Randy St. John

Randy St. John (1989)

Al Moss

Al Moss (1990)

Ruben Tarno

Ruben Tarno (1990)

Louis Berg

Louis Berg (1991)

Peter Neuwirth

Peter Neuwirth (1991)

Fred Olefson

Fred Olefson (1992)


George Doefler (1993)


Leroy Zeigner (1993)

Steve Patkin

Steve Patkin (1994)

marty holtz

Marty Holtz (1994)

Ken Miller

Ken Miller (1994)

no-pic-available Michael Pace (1995)

Eli Garfien

Eli Garfien (1995)

Steve Kirby

Steve Kirby (1996)

Mel Marks

Mel Marks (1996)

Karl Schwartz

Karl Schwartz (1997)

Bob Romanow

Bob Romanow (1997)


Knut "Ben" Bendixen (1998)


Barry Breslow (1999, 2000, 2001)

Barry Cohn

Barry Cohn (2002)

Hanns Hederer

Hanns Hederer (2003)

Karl Flicker

Karl H. Flicker (2004)

James A. Law

James A. Law (2005)

Henry P. Allessio

Henry P. Allessio (2006)

Tom G. Babcox

Tom G. Babcox (2007)

Tom O’Hare

Tom O’Hare (2007)

Bill Babcox

Bill Babcox (2007)

Ed Lynch

Ed Lynch (2008)

Dino Crescentini

Dino Crescentini (2009)


Hans Bierdümpfel (2010)

Lee Kadrich

Lee Kadrich (2011)

Tony Perticari

Tony Perticari (2012)


Hans Joachim Kopecky (2013)

Mort Schwartz

Mort Schwartz (2014)

Kathleen Schmatz

Kathleen Schmatz (2015)


Bob Cushing (2016)

Ira Davis

Ira Davis (2017)


Martin “Marty” Gold (2017)

  • Share