art fisher memorial scholarship

The Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association (AWDA), a community of the Auto Care Association, presented the 2018 Art Fisher Memorial Scholarship Award to Standard Motor Products (SMP), Long Island City, N.Y.  The award was presented by Larry Pavey, president and CEO, Federated Auto Parts, on Oct. 28 at AWDA’s 2018 Annual Conference in Las Vegas.

The Art Fisher Memorial Scholarship Award is presented annually to an aftermarket company or individual that demonstrates outstanding commitment to education and training, either within an organization or throughout the industry. Given in memory of former AWDA Chairman Art Fisher, the award grants scholarships in the name of the award winner to two students enrolled in the automotive aftermarket management program at Northwood University.

Over the years, SMP has been widely recognized for its outstanding training and product support programs.

In 2017, the company received the “Exceptional Training Award” from the Automotive Distribution Network at the network’s annual convention in Orlando, Fla. Fittingly, SMP hosted six technical seminars throughout the event on how to diagnosis and fix common failures on modern vehicles.

Standard Motor Products was honored with the 2017 “Outstanding Training Support Award” from Automotive Parts Headquarters, St. Cloud, Minn. and the Aftermarket Auto Parts Alliance's “Outstanding Training Support Award” during the channel partners’ award banquet at the Alliance's 2017 Winter Shareholder's Meeting.

“Standard Motor Products has been a tremendous partner since the early eighties,” said William Maggs, president and CEO, National Pronto Association. “They have helped automotive professionals with tremendous training and information enabling them to diagnose and repair vehicles with today's technology. In addition, SMP is deeply involved in our industry, supporting great initiatives such as the University of the Aftermarket Foundation, which provides scholarships to young people who want to enter the auto parts business.”

“They're always on the road, they're always in the warehouse, always dealing with customers,” said Cliff Hovis, president, Hovis Auto & Truck Supply, Inc. “You can tell that there's a lot of care that goes into everything they do.”

 Previous award recipients 

  • 2017 NAPA/Genuine Parts
  • 2016 Cliff Hovis
  • 2015 Tim Sturdevant
  • 2014 David Wesselman
  • 2013 James A. Tennant, AAP
  • 2012 Pete Kornafel
  • 2011 Steve Hoellein
  • 2010 John N. Castle
  • 2009 Federal-Mogul Corp. Technical Education Center
  • 2008 David Caracci
  • 2007 Fred Bunting
  • 2006 KYB America
  • 2005 Larry Sills
  • 2004 Richard Beirne and Ron Levene
  • 2003 MEMA
  • 2002 Art Fisher
  • 2001 Ted Wise, AAP
  • 2000 Chuck Udell, AAP
  • 1999 Marc Gelfand, AAP
  • 1998 Raymond Walker, AAP
  • 1997 Louis A. Zuanich, AAP
  • 1996 Tim Lee, AAP
  • 1995 Annie Kornafel, AAP
  • 1994 Bill Kuykendall, MAAP
  • 1993 Gary Kremer, AAP
  • 1993 Clay Buzzard, AAP
  • 1992 Aaron Berkowitz
  • 1991 N. Arthur Epstein, AAP*
  • 1990 Kenneth D. Walker, AAP
  • 1989 Robert H. Raff, MAAP
  • 1988 Jay L. Love
  • 1987 Raymond P. Peck
  • 1986 Larry Anton
  • 1985 Donald E. Edelmann
  • 1984 C. Hamilton Sloan
  • 1983 James L. Fine
  • 1982 Frederic S. Kotcher
  • 1981 Peter R. Kornafel, MAAP
  • 1980 Robert L. Sirotek, AAP
  • 1979 Emil G. Stanley*
  • 1978 Richard B. Black
  • 1977 O. Temple Sloan
  • 1976 Charles N. Gaskill, AAP*
  • 1975 Mort Schwartz, AAP
  • 1974 Dunbar Abston Jr.
  • 1973 Martin G. Brown
  • 1972 Sam Nakis
  • 1971 Herbert Lipton
  • 1970 R. Jack Alexander Jr.
  • 1969 S.G. Puryear
  • 1968 Frank Norfleet
  • 1967 Harry D. Rothman*
  • 1966 Ran P. Hall
The AWDA Memorial Scholarship Award was preceded by the Ernest A. Tapp Memorial Award. The recipients of this award are:
  • 1965 John M. Yantis
  • 1964 Bernard Bock
  • 1963 Paul Livoni
  • 1962 A.P. Walter
  • 1961 Jack F. Whitaker
  • 1960 Thomas S. Perry, AAP
  • Share