jack creamer automotive leader of the year

The Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association (AWDA), a community of the Auto Care Association, presented its 2018 Jack Creamer Leader of the Year Award to Larry Pavey, CEO of Automotive Parts Services Group and president of Federated Auto Parts, on Oct. 28 at its 2018 annual conference in Las Vegas. Each year, AWDA bestows this prestigious honor on an aftermarket professional who has contributed to the industry in a unique and significant way.

Presenting the award was AWDA’s 2017 Leader of the Year, Bill Maggs, president and CEO, National Pronto Association, co-CEO of the Automotive Parts Services Group and 1 Parts Global Aftermarket Services.

Pavey has spent his entire career in the automotive aftermarket, working first for a jobber a warehouse distributor while attending high school and college. In 1976, Pavey joined Walker Manufacturing and held a variety of sales management positions in several markets, rapidly advancing within the organization.

After six years with Walker, Pavey joined Echlin’s newly-formed BWD division as Midwest regional sales manager, later being promoted to vice president of marketing for the Borg Warner, Niehoff and Whitaker brands. After Echlin acquired the assets of Raybestos Brakes in 1985, Pavey moved to Echlin’s Brake Parts Inc. (BPI) division. He served in a variety of roles, including vice president of sales and marketing and general manager of aftermarket distribution and remanufacturing.

Pavey was named president of BPI in 1990. While at the helm, he guided BPI through more than 20 acquisitions, growing the division to the largest brake supplier in the aftermarket. In 1997, Pavey was named president of Echlin’s North American operations and was responsible for all of the company’s aftermarket business. The following year, Echlin was acquired by Dana Corporation and Pavey was named president of Dana’s Under Vehicle Group where he led the global under vehicle business for the next six years.

After retiring from Dana Corporation, Pavey worked for a venture capital firm before joining a former client, Federated Auto Parts, as senior vice president and ultimately president. In 2016, Pavey was also named CEO of the Automotive Parts Services Group, a joint venture of Federated Auto Parts and the National Pronto Association.
“I consider him one of my mentors in this industry; an incredible person,” said Ashlee Arnold, vice president, Arnold Oil Company. “I was told from a very young age that when Larry Pavey speaks, it’s best to shut up and listen!”

Throughout the years, Pavey has been active in many industry associations, including serving as a board member of Institute of Automotive Service Excellence (ASE), Automotive Parts & Accessories Association (APAA), Automotive Service Industries Association (ASIA), Automotive Aftermarket Industry Association (AAIA) and Motor and Equipment Manufacturers Association (MEMA). Pavey currently serves on the AWDA Board of Governors and the University of the Aftermarket Foundation Executive Committee.

“Larry is one of the pillars of the automotive aftermarket,” said Richard Beirne, vice president, corporate development, Automotive Parts Headquarters, Inc. “When I think of my career and the number of great people I’ve met and have been associated with, Larry would be at the top of that list.” 

Previous award recipients

  • 2017 Bill Maggs
  • 2016 Fred Bunting
  • 2015 Larry Sills 
  • 2014 Joseph A. Pomaranski, MAAP
  • 2013 Rusty Bishop, AAP
  • 2012 Kathleen Schmatz, MAAP
  • 2011 Dennis M. Welvaert, MAAP
  • 2010 Rollance E. Olson
  • 2009 E. Fletcher Lord
  • 2008 Robert F. Egan
  • 2007 William D. Grote, III
  • 2006 Dr. David Fry
  • 2005 Timothy A. Lee, AAP
  • 2004 John Washbish, AAP
  • 2003 Richard Morgan, AAP
  • 2002 Joe Owen
  • 2001 Michael Cardone Jr.
  • 2000 Jack Creamer, AAP
  • 1999 Tom Gallagher
  • 1998 N. Arthur Epstein, AAP
  • 1997 Aaron Berkowitz
  • 1996 Clay Buzzard, AAP
  • 1995 David O'Reilly
  • 1994 Nathaniel Sills/ Bernard Fife
  • 1993 Robert H. Raff, MAAP
  • 1992 Arthur E. Lottes III
  • 1991 Larry McCurdy
  • 1990 Martin Fromm, AAP
  • 1989 O. Temple Sloan and
    C. Hamilton Sloan
  • 1988 Peter R. Kornafel, MAAP
  • 1987 Robert Sirotek, AAP
  • 1986 Allen C. Richey
  • 1985 Sen. John C. Danforth
  • 1984 R. Jack Alexander Jr.
  • 1983 Charles N. Gaskill, AAP
  • 1982 Elliot Lehman, AAP
  • 1981 Wilton Looney
  • 1980 Mort Schwartz, AAP
  • 1979 Robert Z. Friedman
  • 1978 A.K. Hannum
  • 1977 Basil J. Mezines
  • 1976 Rene C. McPherson
  • 1975 Richard C. Teasel
  • 1974 John M. Yantis
  • 1973 Frederick J. Mancheski, AAP
  • 1972 Frank M. Norfleet
  • 1971 Arthur Wolff
  • 1970 E.N. "Ernie" Robinson
  • 1969 Thomas S. Perry, AAP
  • 1968 H.C. "Skip" Stivers
  • 1967 Olin Ennis
  • 1966 Edward Gammie
  • 1965 C.M. Scates
  • 1964 C.S. Rogers
  • 1963 C.A. Benoit Jr.
  • 1962 Harold T. Halfpenny
  • 1961 Joe E. Bickel
  • 1960 Ira Saks
  • 1959 Victor L. Toft


  • Share