mort schwartz excellence in education award

The Mort Schwartz Excellence in Education Award is given annually by the Auto Care Association’s Education Committee to an individual that best advances the concepts and programs for education or continuing education in the North American auto care industry. Nominations are evaluated in accordance with the candidate's:

  • Innovation of new auto care education programs for any auto care audience,
  • Advancement of existing programs, and/or
  • Superlative effort to further promote the educational programs or education fund raising efforts.

Watch this informative CarmCast on the benefits of getting involved

CarmCast Auto Care Association Awards Highlights

The deadline has passed for 2019 nominations.

2018 Mort Schwartz Excellence in Education Award Recipient

Photo_Brent Berman_2018 Mort Schwartz AwardBrent Berman, Federal-Mogul Motorparts

Brent Berman is the director of training and consumer experience at Federal-Mogul Motorparts. He has been involved in the automotive industry for over 25 years, primarily in the technical field evolving from mechanical to digital. In his 18 years at Federal-Mogul, Brent has held roles of increasing responsibility in technical training, marketing and now manages the Garage Gurus training group in addition to the catalog and research team, overseeing critical activities from training, tech support, cataloging, e-data and digital media. Brent also oversees the company’s “Tech First” initiative that seeks to simplify and improve the many touch points it has with all levels of customers. Brent has a degree in business enterprise from Cleary University and holds his Automotive Service Technician License in the province of Ontario. He currently serves on the board of the AASA ATC board of governors and on the Auto Care Association Education Committee. He has also served on the Auto Care Association Technology Standards Committee. 

Past Mort Schwartz Excellence in Education Award Recipients

2017: Carm Capriotto, AAP, Host/Producer, Remarkable Results Radio Podcast

2016: Richard (Rick) B. Guirlinger, President, Bourke Services LLC

2015: Susan Kalish, Senior Director, Education, Auto Care Association

2014: Bobby Bassett, Manager of Training, Gates Corporation

2013: Hovis Auto and Truck Supply

2012: Brian Cruickshank, Director, University of the Aftermarket

2011: Fred Bunting, CEO of Auto-Wares, Grand Rapids, Michigan

2010: Chuck Udell, MAAP, President, Essential Action Design Group

2009: Jim John, Instructor & Chair, Automotive Aftermarket Management Program, Northwood University

2008: Steve Hoellein, President, Felt Auto Parts Co.

2007: Pete Kornafel, MAAP, Vice Chairman, CARQUEST

2005: Northwood University


  • Share