Import Vehicle Community Announces 2018 People Award Winners

Posted by Auto Care News on November 01, 2018

BETHESDA, Md. – November 1, 2018 – The Import Vehicle Community, a community of the Auto Care Association, yesterday announced the winners of the 2018 Import Vehicle Community People Awards, which annually honor men and women who have made significant contributions to the import automotive aftermarket. The awards were presented to the winners at the Import Vehicle Community’s Luncheon and Awards Program, which was held during the Automotive Aftermarket Products Expo (AAPEX) currently taking place in Las Vegas.


The winners of this year’s Import Vehicle Community People Awards are:

  • Young Executive of the Year Award:
    • Matthias Kopecky, vice president, purchasing, product management, marketing, SSF Imported Auto Parts LLC
  • Lifetime Industry Achievement Award:
    • Wm. “Mac” McGovern AAM, AAP, director, marketing and training, KYB Americas Corporation, retired (accepted by Mike Fiorito and Aaron Shafer)
    • Rosemary Perry, segment management specialist, Auto Care Association, retired (accepted by Larry Northup)
  • Hall of Fame Award:
    • W. Michael “Mike” Brown, president emeritus, Olympus Imported Auto Parts, retired

2018 IVC People Awards

Winners of the Import Vehicle Community Awards are determined based on nominations submitted by Import Vehicle Community members. For more information, please visit or contact Angela Chiang at

Keywords: aapex