pursuit of excellence

The Aftermarket Auto Parts Alliance, was honored with the Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association’s 2016 Pursuit of Excellence Award.  Established in 1983, this award is given annually to an AWDA member in recognition of excellence in business performance and the setting of high standards as an example for others to follow.

Don Bickle, Jr., president, Warehouse, Inc., presented the award on behalf of AWDA at the association’s 2015 Annual Conference in Las Vegas.  John Washbish, vice president, Aftermarket Auto Parts Alliance, accepted on behalf of the Alliance.

The Pursuit of Excellence Award is presented exclusively to AWDA member companies or employees of those companies in the auto care industry, in recognition of excellence in business performance and the setting of high standards as an example for others to follow.

The Alliance’s commitment to its shareholders and the auto care industry was never more in evidence than at AAPEX 2015 when, in cooperation with the Auto Care Association, the Alliance flooded the show floor with over 3,000 affiliated repair shop owners, managers and technicians, completely changing the dynamic on that final day of AAPEX. 

“The Alliance exemplified the essence of this award when they took the risk to become the first program group ever to conduct their convention, dubbed the Aftermarket Jackpot, in conjunction with AAPEX,” said Bill Collins, national group sales director, Standard Motor Products.

Through the Alliance’s efforts, the number of service center personnel attending AAPEX last year more than tripled, including many that attended for the first time.  Exhibitor booths were redesigned to accommodate training sessions for attendees.  Sessions were taught by exhibitors, and focused on training the automotive technician the value of aftermarket parts.  The Alliance incentivized the training by offering coupons to customers attending the sessions for a chance to win a vintage muscle car.

 “Our booth was swarmed with thousands of professional technicians.  We were able to share all of our product innovations and new product ideas that we could bring to the aftermarket,” said Jeff Darby, Sr. Vice President, Sales & Marketing, Dorman Products, Inc.

Added Jeff Blocher, Director of Sales & Marketing, MANN+HUMMEL Filtration Technology Group Inc., “What they pulled off on Thursday last year at AAPEX, with not only the service technicians, but also their shareholders, creating excitement on a day that really needed it.  It was fantastic.”

Previous award recipients

  • 2016 Aftermarket Auto Parts Alliance 
  • 2015 Wix Filters
  • 2014 Wilson McMillion
  • 2014 George Segal                         
  • 2013 John Bartlett, Jr.
  • 2012 Frank Frederick
  • 2011 Richard Beirne, MAAP 
  • 2010 David Caracci
  • 2010 Brian Cruickshank, MAAP 
  • 2009 Rusty Bishop
  • 2008 Dennis Welvaert
  • 2007 Jay Burkhart
  • 2006 Bill Schlatterer
  • 2005 Jerry McCabe
  • 2004 Rosemary Hall
  • 2003 Barbara Cunningham, Jim Eady
  • 2002 Jon Owens, AAP
  • 2002 Ken Mullen, AAP
  • 2001 Richard H. Morgan, AAP
  • 2000 Bill Dotson, AAP
  • 1999 John M. Riess
  • 1998 Standard Motor Products
  • 1997 Moog Automotive 
    Chuck Udell, AAP
  • 1996 Dayco Products Inc.
  • 1995 Robert Egan, AAP 
    Jack Creamer, AAP
  • 1994 A.E. Clevite Engine Parts 
    The Gates Rubber Company
  • 1993 Triad Systems Corporation
  • 1992 John Castle 
    Rosemary Hall 
    Charles J. Monahan
  • 1991 Robert Miller 
    Stephen C. Horn, AAP
  • 1990 Gus Carlson 
    Richard D. Kudner
  • 1989 William Wade, AAP
  • 1988 Jack Heyler, Automotive Service Association 
    Tenneco Automotive Wagner Division, Cooper Industries
  • 1987 S.R. "Dick" Downey 
    Charles J. Monahan 
    Robert H. Raff, MAAP
  • 1986 Jay L. Love 
    N. Birnie Pryor 
    Kenneth D. Walker, AAP
  • 1984 Worldparts Corporation 
    Louis A. Zuanich, AAP
  • 1983 ACDelco, General Motors Corporation 
    Federal-Mogul Corporation
  • 1982 Bank of America 
    Ford Motor Company
  • Share