martin fromm lifetime achievement

Larry Pavey, president of the Federated Group and CEO of The Automotive Parts Services Group, was presented with the Martin Fromm Lifetime Achievement Award by the Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association (AWDA) at its 2016 annual conference in Las Vegas.  Presenting the Award was AWDA’s 2016 Chairman, Cliff Hovis.

The Martin Fromm Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes individuals who have, over the course of many years, distinguished themselves through their unselfish commitment to, and high level of performance within, the motor vehicle aftermarket industry.

Pavey has spent his entire career in the automotive aftermarket, starting in sales at Walker Manufacturing, then on to the BWD division of Echlin.  He served as vice president of marketing for Borg Warner, Niehoff and Whitaker brands.  With Pavey at the helm, Echlin’s brake business made more than 20 acquisitions becoming the largest brake supplier in the aftermarket industry. He served as president of Echlin’s North American Operations and then president of Dana’s Under Vehicle Group.

Today, Pavey serves as president of the Federate Auto Group and CEO of The Automotive Parts Services Group, a joint venture between National Pronto Association and Federated.  He has been active in many industry associations, serving on the boards of ASE, AAPA, MEMA, AAIA (now the Auto Care Association) and the AWDA Board of Governors.

”Larry’s integrity is probably his greatest passion. He is able to look at the industry as a whole and do what’s best for all of us,” said Brent Windom, president and CEO, Auto Plus and Pep Boys.

“Larry’s commitment to the aftermarket is long and varied,” said Tim Trudnowski, president and general manager, Automotive Jobbers Supply.” He has worked on all sides of the supply chain.  He is truly one of a kind.”

“Larry has served our industry in many ways – as a manufacturer and now as the Group’s Leader,” said Richard Beirne, vice president, corporate development, Automotive Parts Headquarters. “Bringing two major groups together like Federated and Pronto, he had to make a lot of things work.  Larry is a quiet but effective leader who has had a major impact on our industry.”

Previous award recipients 

  • 2016 Larry Pavey
  • 2015 Michael Lambert
  • 2014 Dale Larson
  • 2013 Walter Spence
  • 2013 Clay Buzzard
  • 2012 Jack F. Creamer
  • 2011 Lawrence I. Sills
  • 2010 Robert J. Susor
  • 2009 Neal L. Williams, Sr.
  • 2008 Richard H. Morgan
  • 2007 Aaron Berkowitz
  • 2006 Arthur E. Lottes, III
  • 2005 David O’Reilly
  • 2004 Kathleen Schmatz
  • 2003 Mort Schwartz
  • 2002 Al Gaspar, AAP
  • 2001 Robert R. Miller
  • 2000 Larry McCurdy
  • 1999 Tim Lee, AAP
  • 1998 Basil Mezines
  • 1997 Robert Raff, MAAP 

  • Share