the next step program

Next Step Logo

The Next Step Program offers young industry professionals the unique opportunity to develop lasting involvement in the auto care industry and trade association by experiencing and participating in Auto Care Association’s Spring Leadership Days.

Next Steppers experience first-hand volunteer meetings and networking events with veteran industry leaders at the Auto Care Association’s Spring Leadership Days, May 3-5, 2017 in San Antonio, Texas. More than 450 volunteer industry leaders will participate in 25 committee meetings during the course of the three-day event. Next Steppers will experience up-close how the association and various aspects of the industry work.

Each Next Stepper will receive a scholarship of up to $1,100 to offset most expenses for travel and accommodations to, from and during the event. Most meals are also included. The Next Step Program will award 10 scholarships ($1,100).

Following Spring Leadership Days, YANG will be hosting its second YANG Leadership Conference. Next Step scholarship recipients are encouraged to stay and attend this (2) half-day education conference. Attendees will receive .7 CEU credits towards their AAP/MAAP professional designations. 

Program dates:

May 3-5, 2017

Auto Care Association Spring Leadership Days

Grand Hyatt San Antonio, San Antonio, Texas 

Who can apply: Members of YANG in any facet of the auto care industry. Applicant’s employer must be a member in good standing with the Auto Care Association.  

Applications:  Please submit your application to Deadline to apply - March 1, 2017. 

The 2016 recipients: 

  • Blake Buller, Parts Authority
  • Cotter Collins, Standard Motor Products
  • Mark Devlin, Cardone Industries
  • Kelly Miencier, Auto-Wares
  • Steve Nelson, tascosalesreps
  • Valentine Oldham, Openbay
  • Adam Redling, Babcox Media
  • Ryan Stuver, CRP Industries/CRP Automotive
  • Ruben Vazquez, Tenneco
  • Olivia Whitehurst, Global Parts Distributors

The 2015 recipients: 

  • Thurston Adams, Heri Automotive Inc.
  • Michael Atkins, NAPA Auto Parts/Genuine Parts
  • Sean Ayala, W M Automotive Warehouse Inc.
  • Carolyn Barquist, The Parts House
  • Sophia Coll, Universal Air Conditioner
  • Dustin Ryan Crump, Arnold Oil Company
  • Alex DeYoung, KYB
  • Ted Hess, H.G. Makelim Co.
  • Meagan Jensen, ZF Services LLC
  • Jesse Kaplan, Gem Auto Parts/Neptune Warehouse
  • Tunc Kip, Temel Gaskets USA
  • Brian Wheeler, Dayco

 For more information, contact Courtney Hammer.

  • Share